Blossom Scholarship

2023-24 Chair: Lisa Thompson

The Virgil T. Blossom scholarship is awarded to NEISD graduates who plan to enter the teaching profession. A recipient from each NEISD high school, is awarded the $5000 scholarship to be paid over 8 semesters throughout his/her college years. It is our hope, these scholars return to NEISD schools to teach.


You can make a donation to the Virgil T. Blossom scholarship fund as an honorarium or memorial gift to someone who has contributed to NEISD’s quality education programs. Make your tax-deductible gift today by using the PayPal button below and including your contact information so that we can follow up for the person this donation is being made in honor or memory of and to whom the acknowledgment card should be sent. Alternatively, you may complete the Blossom Scholarship Donation Form and mail the form and a check. By donating, you are perpetuating a NEISD tradition of teaching excellence!

History of the Dr. Virgil T. Blossom Scholarship

On September 27, 1960, North East Council of PTAs first Scholarship Committee began with $140.00 and a dream for the future. The scholarship was renamed in honor of Dr. Virgil T. Blossom on March 24, 1962, then superintendent of the North East School District. The first scholarships of $100.00 were awarded on August 25, 1961. The first recipients were Susan Welch from Robert E. Lee High School and Linda West from Douglas MacArthur High School. In 1967, recipients were added from the Winston Churchill and Theodore Roosevelt High Schools. In 1980, the James Madison High School recipient was added. With the first graduating class of Ronald Reagan High School in 2000, the total number of scholarships was increased to six. Finally, in 2008, seven scholarships were awarded with the addition of Claudia Taylor Johnson High School. 

In 1974, it was recommended that the local units include a scholarship chairman on the board of each local unit. The role of the local unit chairman is to promote, publicize, and encourage contributions to the fund through memorials and honorariums. The local unit scholarship chairman supports the efforts of the North East Council of PTAs Scholarship Committee.

The Blossom Scholarship fund has grown considerably over the years thanks to memorial donations, annual contributions from locale PTAs and conscientious investment. As such, the scholarship award has increased too. Today’s recipients receive a $5000 scholarship paid over 8 semesters, and we hope they return to NEISD schools to teach one day.

Blossom Scholarship Forms

Each high school will have their own scholarship form. Please reach out to your school's PTA or the Counseling office for their form and deadline.  

Important Dates 2023-24

Blossom Scholarship Committee Chair Meeting - October 26, 2023, 10 am 

Blossom Scholarship Applications due January 15, 2024. 

Blossom Scholarship Award Ceremony (@ Council Delegate Meeting) - March 19, 2024, 10 am

Blossom Scholarship 2022-23 Recepients 

Congratulations to our 2023 Virgil T. Blossom scholarship recipients!

Makayla Ramos – Churchill

Ariana Alemen – Madison

Nicole Garcia – Roosevelt

Amelia Loveland – Reagan

Thomas Martinez – Legacy of Educational Excellence (LEE)

Magdalena Vargas – MacArthur

Sofia Beauchamp - Johnson