Blossom Scholarship

Donate Button with Credit Cards

2016-17 Chairperson: Rosemary Robledo

The Virgil T. Blossom scholarship is awarded to NEISD graduates who plan to enter the teaching profession. A recipient from each NEISD high school, is chosen annually for scholarships to be renewed each year throughout his/her college careers. You can make a donation to the Virgil T. Blossom scholarship with an honorarium, memorial or as a thank you to someone who has contributed to NEISD’s quality education programs. Make your tax-deductible gift today by completing the Blossom Scholarship Donation Form and perptuate a NEISD tradition to teaching excellence!

History of the Dr. Virgil T. Blossom Scholarship

On September 27, 1960, the first Scholarship Committee of the North East Council of PTAs was formed. Members of the committee were elected by written ballot at that time. The committee began with $140.00 and a dream for the future.

The scholarship, originally named the North East Scholarship, was renamed the Dr. Virgil T. Blossom Scholarship on March 24, 1962, in honor of Dr. Blossom, then superintendent of the North East School District. This occurred approximately three years before Dr. Blossom’s death.

The first scholarships of $100.00 were awarded on August 25, 1961. The first recipients were Susan Welch from Robert E. Lee High School and Linda West from Douglas MacArthur High School. In 1967, recipients were added from the Winston Churchill and Theodore Roosevelt High Schools. In 1980, the James Madison High School recipient was added. The total number was increased to six in 2000 with the first graduating class of Ronald Reagan High School.

In 1974, it was recommended that the local units include a scholarship chairman on the board of each local unit. The role of the local unit chairman is to promote, publicize, and encourage contributions to the fund through memorials and honorariums. The local unit scholarship chairman supports the efforts of the North East Council of PTAs Scholarship Committee.

From the $140.00 beginning in 1960, the fund has been enriched continually through Fundraising, contributions, and donations. Funds were raised in the past years through Mexican suppers, seventh grade bus trips to Austin, drama productions of high school students in the elementary schools, a tennis tournament, the sale of confetti eggs at the North East County Fair, and a benefit performance of “Finian’s Rainbow” at San Antonio Little Theater. In the fall of 1977, the Projected Goal Plan was suggested to the local units as a means of insuring equal funding by all member units. It was anticipated that the Goal Plan would be shared by the local unit PTA and the school itself in a Fundraising activity. It was recommended that each high school raise $300, each middle school $150 and each elementary school $100. When each local unit and its school participate together, a lot of needed publicity is given to the scholarship itself.

In January 1990, after a study of projected growth of the fund, the committee unanimously increased the scholarship to $300.00 per semester, and in March 2002, the scholarship increased to $325.00 per semester. The goal of investing enough money to insure that the Scholarship Fund is completely self-sustaining was accomplished in the Spring of 1992.

About the Council Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee will encourage local unit participation in the Projected Goal Plan and promote the Scholarship Fund to the general membership and community.

The Council Scholarship Committee is comprised of a chairman, a representative and principal from each high school, a representative and principal from each middle school, a representative and principal from the designated elementary school(s) within each high school feeder area (these elementary schools serve in rotating order), the Council President, the Council 1st Vice President, the Council Treasurer, and the Superintendent of Schools, ex-officio. The committee is guided by a set of bylaws. The chairman is selected by the Council Executive Committee/Board. The chairman of the committee represents the committee on the Council Executive Committee/Board. The high school representatives are selected and appointed by the high school PTA president.

The function of the council committee is twofold:

  1. It is responsible for the selection of one recipient from each of the North East high schools.
  2. It makes certain that all recipients currently attending college receive their scholarship payment for the next semester of work.

The council committee is also responsible for the necessary Fundraising to support the continuation of the project and suggest means by which each local unit may contribute to the fund.

Blossom Scholarship Forms

Virgil T. Blossom Scholarship Application with Instructions

Virgil T. Blossom Scholarship Recipient Contract

Virgil T. Blossom Scholarship Recipient Guidelines

Important Dates

October 11, 2016 – Blossom Scholarship Executive Committee Meeting, 9:30-11:30 a.m., RAMEC 509

April 25, 2017 – Blossom Scholarship Luncheon (@ Council Association Meeting), 10:30 a.m., PBSC